Library: Indigenous Education: Aboriginal &amp; Torres Strait Islander Culture

Indigenous Education subject guide

Indigenous Australian art showcased on Kanopy

Off-campus: you will need to log in with your student ID and password.

Science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM)

The Conversation: 5 Indigenous engineering feats you should know about
For many millennia, Indigenous Australians have engineered the landscape using sophisticated technological and philosophical knowledge systems in a deliberate response to changing social and environmental circumstances.
Deadly Story: Engineering
Examples of Aboriginal peoples' long connection to science and technology through engineering.
Engineers Without Borders Australia: Stories of Indigenous Engineering
Inspiring stories to encourage the next generation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in STEM.

DEECA: Technology reveals ancient wisdom at Budj Bim

Cultural collections

AIATSIS Collection
The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island Studies holds over 1 million items relating to AATSI culture and history.
Bunjilaka Aboriginal Cultural Centre
Part of Museums Victoria, the Bunjilaka Cultural Centre aims to empower Indigenous voices and share Aboriginal culture with museum visitors.
Koorie Heritage Trust
A collection of artworks, artefacts, photographs, oral history recordings and a reference library showcasing the Koorie Aboriginal culture of South-Eastern Australia.
National Library of Australia: Torres Strait Islands Collection
A research guide to the Torres Strait Islander Collections held by the National Library of Australia.
Trove: First Australians
Trove is an online research portal by NLA and partner organisations. It has material relevant to First Australians peoples.

The natural world

Bush foods - or bush tucker - have been consumed for thousands of years in Australia, and it makes us unique in the world when it comes to cuisine.

Off-campus: Log in using your student ID and password.

Creative Arts

Australian Government: Office for the Arts
This link will take you to the website of the Australian Government department for the Arts, which includes events and policies related to Indigenous Art.
Baluk Arts
A 100% Aboriginal owned and community led arts centre and gallery in the Southeast of Victoria.
Creative Victoria: First Peoples Directions Circle
A group of First Peoples leaders and professionals working across the creative industries, education, community, philanthropic sectors.
ILBIJERRI
First Peoples theatre company based in Victoria.

Bendigo TAFE acknowledges their campuses are located on the ancestral lands of the Djaara people of the Dja Dja Wurrung and the Yorta Yorta People. The institute respects traditional custodians, Elders and their cultural heritage.

Kangan Institute acknowledges their campuses are located on the ancestral lands of the Wurundjeri people of the Kulin Nations. The institute respects traditional custodians, Elders and their cultural heritage.

Images/icons used by BKI under license from Canva ; Microsoft image used with permission ; Book cover images under license from Syndetics

Indigenous Education: Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Culture

Indigenous Education subject guide

Yatdjuligin : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nursing and midwifery care

This Book Thinks Ya Deadly!

Sand Talk : How Indigenous Thinking Can Save the World

The little red yellow black book : an introduction to indigenous Australia

The First Scientists

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art : collection highlights, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra

Contemporary Aboriginal art : a guide to the rebirth of an ancient culture

Gatherings : contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art from Queensland, Australia

Flora of Melbourne : a guide to the indigenous plants of the greater Melbourne area

Ancestral power : the dreaming, consciousness, and Aboriginal Australians

Discovering Aboriginal Plant Use : journeys of an Australian anthropologist

Indigenous Australian art showcased on Kanopy

Science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM)

Cultural collections

The natural world

Creative Arts