Library: Images for Educational Use: Images for Educational Use

Images for Educational Use

Attribution examples

"Loyal" by yugurtz is licensed under CC BY 2.0, accessed 16/2/2022, reproduced with permission

**NOTE: the attribution appears on the right hand side of the screen when you select an image. Then add the two other statements for BKI compliance.

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash, accessed 16/2//22, reproduced with permission

NOTE: Click on the 'download' button when you select the image, the attribution will appear and you can copy it. Then add the two other statements for BKI compliance. *Beware of iStock photos which are chargable*

Online image collections

Always check the terms and conditions of each site for copyright. Attribution of images is always required under Australian copyright legislation.

Pexels Pexels provides high quality and completely free stock photos licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license. All photos are nicely tagged, searchable and also easy to discover through our discover pages.
Pixabay Pixabay - a repository for stunning public domain pictures. Your source for free vectors, free drawings and free photos. You can use any Pixabay image without attribution in digital and printed form, even for commercial applications.
Unsplash All photos published on Unsplash can be used for free. You can use them for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible. More precisely, Unsplash grants you an irrevocable, nonexclusive copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use photos from Unsplash for free, including for commercial purposes, without permission from or attributing the photographer or Unsplash. This license does not include the right to compile photos from Unsplash to replicate a similar or competing service.
Openverse - search engine for Creative Commons
Includes attribution (bottom right hand corner after selecting the image)
Creative Commons Search Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools. Our free, easy-to-use copyright licenses provide a simple, standardized way to give the public permission to share and use your creative work — on conditions of your choice. CC licenses let you easily change your copyright terms from the default of “all rights reserved” to “some rights reserved.” Creative Commons licenses are not an alternative to copyright. They work alongside copyright and enable you to modify your copyright terms to best suit your needs.
Compfight Compfight is an image search engine tailored to efficiently locate images for blogs, comps, inspiration, and research.
every stock photo We are a search engine for free photos. These come from many sources and are license-specific. You can view a photo's license by clicking on the license icon, below and left of photos. Membership is free and allows you to rate, tag, collect and comment on photos
flickr Commons The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
Google Advanced Image search Narrow your results by selecting the appropriate Usage Rights filter. E.g. "free to use, share or modify, even commercially."
NASA photos and Images
Clip Safari
PhotoPin Search millions of Creative Commons photos and add them to your blog posts easily.
Photos For Class Teachers have told us they need a place to access safe images that are available to be used in the classroom and for educational purposes. Plus they want accurate image citations. We’ve heard you and created “Photos For Class” to meet your needs for images! Safe G Rated Images - All images are appropriate for school setting thanks to Flicker safe Search and our proprietary filters Automatic Citation - Downloaded images automatically cite the author and the image license terms Creative Commons - All photos shown are to the best of our (and Flickr's) knowledge Creative Commons licensed for school use
PikWizard
Wikimedia Commons A database of continually updated, freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Wikipedia:Public domain image resources Public domain image resources lists a number of sources of public domain images on the Web.
85 Free Stock Photo Resources – How to Use Them Article by Jake Rheude on Red Stag Fulfillment, 2017
100+ AMAZING Free Stock Image & Photo Resources for 2018 From SaleHoo.

BKI's Shutterstock (stock image) licence - BKI staff only

BKI has an image licence for Shutterstock which is an image stock site.

Teachers, please search the site and send the URL link/s of the image(s) you would like downloaded to - 'Product Partners' (Outlook distribution list email). Please note images 'for editorial use only' cannot be downloaded under our licence.

One of BKI's Courseware Partners (formerly known as Product Partners) will email you the image(s) with the correct attribution statement to include in your resources.

Image by Light And Dark Studio/Shutterstock, accessed 26/11/20, reproduced with permission

Art, Fashion and Design

Always check the terms and conditions of each site for copyright. Attribution of images is always required under Australian copyright legislation.

Art Institute of Chicago "The Art Institute, founded in 1879, now has approximately 300,000 works of art in its permanent collection"
British Museum - Collection Online "There are currently 2,171,256 records available, which represent more than 3,500,000 objects. 868,320 records have one or more images."
Fashion Institute of Technology NYC Browse by era from 18th century to modern fashion
Louvre Museum (Paris) Official Website
Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York) Enjoy the collection online.
Museum of Modern Art (New York) Browse the online collection.
Powerhouse Muesum Explore the Collections.
Tate: Modern Art and St Ives Explore the history of modern art in St Ives
Victoria and Albert Museum (London) World's leading museum of art and design.

History, Science and Technology

Always check the terms and conditions of each site for copyright. Attribution of images is always required under Australian copyright legislation.

Museums Victoria
National Museum of Australia "At the core of the National Museum and its exhibitions is the National Historical Collection, more than 200,000 objects which represent Australia's history and cultural heritage. "
Western Australian Museum online collections "The Western Australian Museum have developed a number of collection databases and collection-based online resources for the benefit of the public."

MS 365 : Word, Powerpoint, Outlook etc - Stock images

Insert - Pictures - select 'Stock images'

Attribution is 'Used with permission by Microsoft'

*Only can be used in MS software programs*

Used with permission by Microsoft