Library: Building and construction: Overview

Contact us

City Campus Library

Level 2, Building G, 154 Hargreaves Street

Bendigo VIC 3550

Monday to Thursday: 8:00am - 4:30pm Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm

phone: (03) 5434 1516

email: library@bendigotafe.edu.au

Map of campus

Keywords and shelf locations

Click on the keyword to search the catalogue or go directly to the shelves.

Brickwork	693.21
Building industry	690.023
Building tools	621.908 & 684.083
Concrete	620.136 & 693.5
Framing	694.2
Roofing	690.15 & 695
Sustainable construction	690.0286 & 720.47
Windows and doors	694.6

Quick search - Bendigo TAFE Library

Enter an author, title or keyword above and click on Search to find what you are looking for in the library collection.
To renew or reserve items please contact the library by phone or email, or visit the library in person. These services are also available online. Contact the library for details.

To access our extensive ebook collection, click on the link below. Off-campus you will be asked to login with your Student ID and Password.

Ebook Central

Please use this link to access the database:

EBSCOHost Journal & Newspaper articles

Off-campus, you will need your Student ID and Password.

Access millions of journal and newspaper articles. If off-campus, you will need your Student ID and Password.

Selection of books in the Library

Rawlinsons Australian construction handbook 2019

Rawlinsons construction cost guide 2019 : for housing, small commercial and industrial buildings.

Australian text. Definition of terms, coverage of regulation and codes, real-world examples and practical demonstrations.

Contains actual construction processes and realistic construction drawings integrated into chapter content.

Pre-apprenticeship Maths and Literacy for Building and Carpentry

Building a Successful Construction Company

Straightforward, conversational guide that emphasizes how strategic thinking is essential for starting and running a construction company today.

Selection of eBooks in the Library

The classic visual guide to the basics of building construction.

Handbook for Construction Planning and Scheduling

Involves students in the types of everyday issues faced by professional building architects.

Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings

Based mainly on domestic and residential buildings this text is the ideal introduction to the subject of building construction.

Safety Hub WH&S vidoes

SafetyCare Montie "Safetyhub" is the entire Safetycare OHS video library.

Click HERE to access online videos on ergonomics, fire awareness, forklift safety, manual handling, personal protective equipment plus many more Work Health and Safety topics.

If you require assistance, please contact the Library at library@bendigotafe.edu.au, call us on (03) 5434 1516, or visit the Library.

For best performance of video it is recommended you use Internet Explorer 10 or above.

ClickView Online videos

Note: Off campus, you will be prompted to enter your student ID and password to login.

Design for sustainability In this program we'll look at the principles of sustainability in design; the negative effects of waste - an Australian case study; minimising wastage; and examples of sustainable design in architecture, fashion design and graphic design and printing. Duration: 26mins. Year: 2008.
Engineered Wood Products The program introduces the topic of wood products with a brief discussion concerning the diminishing old growth forests and the need to find alternative products. The overuse of timber in today's society with both plantation forests and the engineered wood products is discussed, including Laminated Veneer Lumber (LVL), Medium Density Fibreboard (MDF), Plywood and Chipboard. Duration: 23mins. Year: 2000
Fasteners for Construction The program looks at withdrawal strength and the amount of effort required to pull a fastener out of timber. We see nailing techniques using hand nailing, air pressure nail guns and their safe use. This program also provides many helpful hints including safe working load, along with other relevant occupational health and safety issues. Duration: 26mins Year:2005
Hand-held Power Tools - Part One: The Safe Operation of Different Saws The power tools shown in Part One include circular saws, jigsaws, and reciprocating saws. As well, proper safety procedures are followed during the operation of each tool. Care is taken to include different applications, such as the use of jigs and the benefits of various blades. An excellent introductory video for any workshop. Duration: 18mins. Year: 2003.
Hand-held Power Tools - Part Two: Safety and Power Requirements - Drills, Routers, Sanders Part Two focuses on power drills, screwdrivers, hammer drills, routers, and sanders. Special sections on safety, with emphasis on the appropriate use of power extension cords and harmful noise levels are included. Duration: 19mins. Year: 2012.
Hand Tools for Woodworking For centuries humans have used their hands to build things and shape their environment, from creating a simple wheel to constructing giant sky scrapers. As our skills and the complexity of our tasks develop so do the tools we use. But no matter how big the job or how complex the task, many of the basic hand tools we use have remained the same. This Australian-made, curriculum fit program introduces us to a range of basic hand tools covering their uses, tips, and possible pitfalls. A full demonstration of how to safely and effectively use a range of saws, planes, and chisels is provided.
Inside the Carpenter's Toolbox How do carpenters turn building materials into buildings? This program looks at the tools and construction materials carpenters depend on every day. Types of carpenters - rough, finish and general - are also mentioned and safety is reinforced throughout the program. Duration: 19mins. Year: 2008.
Planers - The Use of the Surface Planer In this informative and entertaining program, the honing and changing of the cutter blades is shown as well as proper and safe operating procedure. More challenging cuts are demonstrated, such as the planing of thin, cupped or warped stock, as well as square planing and end planing. Duration: 25mins Year: 2001.
Preparing Wood - FEWTEL In addition to the FEWTEL process, the video deals with how to minimize waste in the workshop and choosing the type and size of stock. Hand tools employed include the plane, the try-square, and the marking gauge. Care is taken to maintain proper safety procedure throughout the program. Duration: 25mins. Year: 2001.
Safety in Technology Workshops Many potential hazards are discussed, from keeping the floor free of obstacles to the dangers of excessive noise, electrical tools and airborne dust. The program concludes by providing a framework for safe tools and machinery. Duration: 23mins. Year: 2001.
Tool Maintenance in the Workshop Terms are clarified as they are introduced, including honing, grinding, wire edge (burr), flatting, stropping, etc. As well as the more obvious tools (saws, chisels, planes), the program devotes time to others including scrapers, lathe tools, drill bits, marking tools… even clamps and the woodworker’s vice. Duration: 32mins. Year: 2003.
Using Power Tools Safely This video presents the potential hazards and the correct use of, angle grinders, jack-hammers, circular saws, and power drills. Using examples and commentary from a Master Builder, a practical guide of how to use each power tool is demonstrated and explained. Units Of Competency: CPCCOHS1001A - Work safely in the construction industry. CPCPCM2043A - Carry out WHS requirements. Warning: this program contains graphic imagery that some viewers may find disturbing. Year: 2014 Duration: 20:58
Worksite Communication Skills This video comprises of basic communication skills as they are applied within industrial or commercial trade settings such as construction sites, engineering or fabrication workshops and manufacturing enterprises. We explore why clear communication is critical in ensuring that the working environment poses minimal or no risk to workers, and work tasks are completed correctly and quality is maintained. Workers can come from a wide range of cultural and linguistic backgrounds. It is vital that communication in all its forms is appropriate and inclusive for all. Communication with CALD workers is examined as well as using the phone and face-to-face verbal communication. Units Of Competency BSBCMM101A - Apply basic communication skills CPCPCM2039A - Carry out interactive workplace communication. Year: 2014 Duration: 19:34 mins

Paving

Highly recommended by the Horticulture Department, pavingexpert.com is choc full of fantastic resources.

Includes:

Easy instructions

Photos and diagrams

Video content

Coverage of all aspects

This site from the UK and Ireland is held in high regard by experts in the field both overseas and in Australia.